Help regarding OX GUI editor /Scene editor

Sep 30, 2010 at 9:43 AM

Hi !

I am new to XNA and found OX game engine , I have some issues regarding GUi editor and scene editor ,I havnt found any good tutorials on net ,like how to make game menus and your own scene using your models and sky-domes in these editor.All i hv found are these 2 basic tutorials which are not enough to understand all engine working.

http://xna.thermalsoarer.com/pdf/ox-tutorial-01.pdf

http://xna.thermalsoarer.com/articles/ox2.htm

So can you please help me with this .

1) how to design a game menu and Can i upload a image file in Ox Gui editor. Like if I want to use it as background in menu .

2) How to use your own .max or .fbx models in scene editor. 

Please do reply =)

Editor
Oct 1, 2010 at 7:20 AM

Hi,

you have come across the same situation that most people who use ox come up against, "how to get an image into or how to design my own gui" unfortunately the gui in ox doesn't cater for everyones needs and if you trawl this discussion board you will find that it is often the recommendation to expand the codebase to include your own gui code.  Personally i never worked out how to do this but if your coding skills are better than mine (which would be cake as i really suck at coding) you may have a chance, there is a small tutorial for the Gui editor included in the engine's documentation..

As for the scene editor, you have to let xna compile the models into xnb files and then move them into your scene editor's folder with the rest of the default models, you can then rename the modelfilename property to point to your model within the scene editors folder, its a little hacky but it works ok.