Oct 21, 2008 at 1:11 PM

When running any demo program after comilation, I get this error:

--

System.TypeInitializationException was unhandled
  Message="The type initializer for 'Ox.Core.OxConsts' threw an exception."
  Source="Ox.Gui"
  TypeName="Ox.Core.OxConsts"
  StackTrace:
       at Ox.Gui.GuiServices.CreateGuiCamera() in C:\Work\xna\3d engines\Ox\Ox.Gui\GuiServices.cs:line 397
       at Ox.Gui.GuiServices..ctor(IOxServices services, IGuiEditorPlugin guiEditorPlugin, IGuiViewFactory guiViewFactory) in C:\Work\xna\3d engines\Ox\Ox.Gui\GuiServices.cs:line 147
       at GuiDemo.Application..ctor() in C:\Work\xna\3d engines\Ox\GuiDemo\Application.cs:line 51
       at GuiDemo.Program.Main(String[] args) in C:\Work\xna\3d engines\Ox\GuiDemo\Program.cs:line 12
--

Any ideas? I'm quite new with xna, so I don't fully understand how to fix this. I couldn't find anything wrong with the code.
I have not done anything to the code otherwise. Using visual express 2005 with xna 2.0.

Thanks for any help!! I'm doing a short project until monday and need to decide on an 3d engine faaaaast. This looks complete and good enough for this.

Coordinator
Oct 21, 2008 at 9:58 PM
Edited Oct 22, 2008 at 1:34 AM
Hi Rockard!

It sounds like something happened to your OxConsts.txt configuration file. You get this error when OxConsts can't read in its variables from OxConsts.txt properly. I tried to reproduce the error with a clean download, but cannot. I think you'll just have to try to debug it. To do so, set a breakpoint on line 16 in Ox.Core.OxConsts.cs and step through to find the problem. It should be relatively easy to figure out :)

Wish I could tell ya more :)
Oct 21, 2008 at 11:05 PM

Hmm.. seems it isn't the textfile. Since, if I remove it, the project won't compile. I tried debugging, and it loaded in fine - the text was read into variables.
What may be of importance, is that the error occurs before leaving the initiation of oxConsts, the same function you told me to watch.