Questions about physics in GameDemo

Feb 21, 2009 at 8:09 AM
Hi, I just downloaded the engine source last night and started messing around with some of the constant values in the ExamplePlayer.cs and was wondering about the physics and how I would go about affecting the strength of gravity. I figured the best way would be to just increase the mass constant, but that didn't seem to make the player sphere object fall any faster, just made it harder to push.

I was also wondering about the shadowing solution you have implemented and how expensive it is. I'm actually not a programmer by trade, but an artists so my understanding of things is pretty basic. Ideally I'm looking for an engine that can push a fair amount of mesh detail with a static lighting solution (just using baked lightmaps) and using point lights for dynamic objects. Also, does your engine have some way of culling objects such as view frustum culling, portals or visibility triggers?

Btw, I don't know if your looking for feedback on the editor, but from an artists standpoint, the controls are quite frustrating to use. The best control scheme that I've come across for navigation in an editor would have to be Unreal's. All the camera navigation can be done through the mouse without any modifer keys and translating objects is done the same, but only with the Ctrl key used as a modifier.

Unreal Camera & Object Manipulation.

Left Mouse Button + Up / Down = Move the camera forward and back. (The camera is constrained to whatever current elevation it's at, it's not the same as a zoom or a truck. The camera shouldn't move forward in the look axis, but instead move forward along the ground plane. The idea is to simulate the viewpoint from somebody walking.)